Matt Fisher on Security, Computers, and Life

Yes, I have robots ;)  If your Roomba won’t hold a charge anymore, here’s some help:

First off, contact iRobot.  They have excellent support staff and while they can’t bring a dead cell to life over the phone, they’ll certainly help.

They may recommend the 16-hour reset.  I think this is essentially telling the electronics to not monitor the charging depth, and perform a deep charge … I’m guessing.  To do this: 

  1.  Remove the battery
  2. Press and hold the power button for at least 5 seconds (some will say 15, but iRobot themselves told me 5 for my Scheduler 4260 model)
  3. Replace the battery, and then charge the robot for at least 16 hours.  Some advise to plug the cord directly into the robot versus using the docking station, in case it gets knocked off the dock.  Some advise to charge for 3 days, but iRobot told me 16 hours.
  4. After 16 hours if it’s green and happy, set it to max and let it run until it’s exhausted itself ( heh, like kids ;) and see if that improved the runtime. 

If it didn’t improve the runtime (as is my case) , you can return to iRobot for help and they may well issue a new battery. 

By the way, that expensive “Advanced” Power Supply in your roomba is basically a set of ni-cad rechargeable c-cells in series, so you can make or repair your own  although I can’t be bothered with that and just ordered a brand-new one from All-Battery  for a mere 48 bucks with shipping; about half of what iRobot, Amazon, and others charge.   

In the meantime, I’ll plug mine back in and let it sit.  If I manage to actually resuscitate it or iRobot proffers me a new one, worst case I’ll have spent 48 bucks for a spare battery; not bad at all.

Comments on: "If your Roomba won’t hold a charge anymore …" (7)

  1. Great advice. Roomba batteries are very expensive. After market batteries are much cheaper.

    • HEy.. the same thing happened to me. I have a 4000 series. We moved a couple years ago and just got the roomba out of being packed away for a coupple years. I plugged it in,left it charging for 24 hours and it was completely dead. Or so I thought. I went on ebay and purchsed a new battery (w extra wattage). Got it home, charged it overnight,and it worked. Well, for about 20 mins. It must have been the charge that was already on the battery. So, I did the unplug and hold the power button thing. What I didn’t realize was, the battery was not connect all the way or something. Hence, while it was charging, it wasn’t. SO, MAKE SURE, WHEN YOU BATTERY WILL NOT HOLD A CHARGE…. WHEN IT’S CONNECTED TO THE POWER STATION, OR STRAIGHT TO THE WALL, MAKE SURE THE THE LIGHT IS ON AROUND THE POWER BUTTON (RED OR GREEN). If not, you have the same prob. These batteries have a tendency to not connect totally. Turn it over and play with it. You might have to plug it into the wall and push your battery in towards the machine, like you a installing the battery again until that power light comes on. Then you know it’s charging! found out the hard way.. LOL!

  2. Always check aftermarket for everything before buying official. Also, check reviews of the batteries to make sure you aren’t buying a lemon product.

  3. laurie Niessen said:

    bought a new battery for my roomba. It works but stops 2-3 times with each cleaning. weird

  4. Thanks all. I found these comments and Matt’s blog very helpful. Now I’m off to try what was recommended! Blessings-

  5. My battery would not charge. I thought the battery was dead so bought a new one. The new one won’t charge either. The red power light was barely visible. I just went in and did the reset and plugged the power cord directly into the roomba. The red light is doing nothing so I tried it on the charging station again. Still nothing. Since I bought my roomba used will the roomba folks help in any way? Or does anybody have any suggestions as to what might be wrong?

  6. Carol, it could be that the charging system in the Roomba itself is bad. There are external chargers available on ebay usually for $42.50. Make sure what you get is an external charger, though, since some sellers list the plug-in charger or the home base as an “external”, which they are not. (With the external, you literally take the battery out of the Roomba and set it down into the external charger).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

